RiderSite.com Forum Index RiderSite.com
[v4.2]
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Anyone know why it would go into Diag/TPS mode on its own?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RiderSite.com Forum Index -> Falco
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
spiderwheels
Clubman Racer
Clubman Racer


Joined: 14 Jan 2014
Posts: 344
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:36 pm    Post subject: Anyone know why it would go into Diag/TPS mode on its own? Reply with quote

So its cutting out and Diag mode is popping up on the right hand screen and showing the TPS position - i.e. exactly as if the diag wires had been connected.

No error codes, just the -1, 0, 1 as if the TPS is being adjusted.
_________________
It's right I'm sure. It fits in with 'delirium' and 'Balochistan'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatboy
World Champion


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 3414
Location: BATH

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be down to voltage drop, check battery voltage,all pos and neg battery leads including starter motor.
Check the block connectors are snug in the ECU,check the connectors to the dash, drown them all with contact cleaning spray,look for chafed wiring/poor connects.
Check the voltage drop as it turns over on the starter, worm brushes in the starter can cause massive voltage drop, enough to send the dash display into frenzy mode.
If you can rule out all of the above suspect the TPS,
My own does similar trick or treats
_________________
Cleverly disguised as an adult !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
spiderwheels
Clubman Racer
Clubman Racer


Joined: 14 Jan 2014
Posts: 344
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've not checked the voltage drop however it has no problem starting. It doesn't do this when starting.

So today, it started fine. I got 20 yards before it cut out and brought this up. I started it up again and got 10 yards. Again, 2 yards, Again, 1 inch...

Turned it around, started up and rode back on the biting point of the clutch.

Runs fine in the garage. On the stand, in gear, engaging clutch while dragging the back brake to give it some load. Maybe not enough load.

It sounds like it might be the TPS. Can I just transplant from the other Falco and see if it fixes it or are they awkward to move?
_________________
It's right I'm sure. It fits in with 'delirium' and 'Balochistan'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mangocrazy
Admin
Admin


Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 3360
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd give Griff a ring at Aprilia Performance. It's likely he's encountered this before/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spiderwheels
Clubman Racer
Clubman Racer


Joined: 14 Jan 2014
Posts: 344
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mangocrazy wrote:
I'd give Griff a ring at Aprilia Performance. It's likely he's encountered this before/


I tried that but they're not open on the weekend
_________________
It's right I'm sure. It fits in with 'delirium' and 'Balochistan'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spiderwheels
Clubman Racer
Clubman Racer


Joined: 14 Jan 2014
Posts: 344
Location: Cambridge

PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Griff was kind enough to give me a few pointers on Facebook on a Sunday.

For future reference: If this message pops up on the dash without plugging the diagnostic wires together then there's an intermittent fault with the ECU power supply or earth.

In my case one of the wires had come loose in bottom of the ignition barrel. I wiggled it by hand and it was the same as switching off the ignition so out on the road there must have been just enough vibration to trip out the ECU while still leaving the dash on.

The ignition switch is fastened to the bottom of the barrel with a couple of phillips screws and, once removed, can be prized apart carefully and the offending wire soldered back in place.

All back together now.
_________________
It's right I'm sure. It fits in with 'delirium' and 'Balochistan'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatboy
World Champion


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 3414
Location: BATH

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool ! All good and well done to that man with the secret Afro hairdo
_________________
Cleverly disguised as an adult !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RiderSite.com Forum Index -> Falco All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group