RiderSite.com Forum Index RiderSite.com
[v4.2]
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Switch gear

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RiderSite.com Forum Index -> Falco
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AJFalco
Track Day Addict
Track Day Addict


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 112
Location: Portsmouth

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:46 pm    Post subject: Switch gear Reply with quote

Sooooooooo, my newest Falco (2005) has no light on/off switch. Great idea for a bike with massive drain on a battery when starting
Is it possible to just fit an older switch gear or is there more to it than that?
Anyone done it?

_________________
Growing old, not up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fatboy
World Champion


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 3475
Location: BATH

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe the one called Mangocrazy did exactly the same thing.
One would hope that it is simply replacing a later switch with an earlier one.....
He will at some time stop fettling his new toy and read this...........
_________________
Cleverly disguised as an adult !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
D-Rider
Admin
Admin


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 15505
Location: Coventry

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In short, No.

If you look at the wiring diagram in the Falco Workshop Manual, you will see it contains the On/Off switch (see page 203 of the pdf):
http://www.martinpoll.dk/diverse/Bikemanual_sl1000_OCR.pdf

If you look at page 15 of the intereactive wiring diiagram, you will see it has the switchgear without the On/Off switch:
http://www.martinpoll.dk/diverse/mille%20wiring%20diagram.pdf

In both diagrams, we're looking at switch 13.

You will see that the wire harness of the switch without the on off switch has a wire missing (a yellow wire - colour code "G").

So, for it to work, you will have to sort that out too.

I expect all the other wires go to the same places but haven't double checked - you can easily do that by comparing the wiring diagrams.
_________________

“Scientists investigate that which already is. Engineers create that which has never been.”
-- Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mangocrazy
Admin
Admin


Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 3406
Location: Sheffield, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2019 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fatboy wrote:
I believe the one called Mangocrazy did exactly the same thing.
One would hope that it is simply replacing a later switch with an earlier one.....
He will at some time stop fettling his new toy and read this...........

Ha! He has today actually been fettling the Falco! And doing stuff with handlebars and switches!

(But completely failed to notice what switchgear was fitted)

It's been a while, but I seem to remember it was a bit of a lottery as to what switchgear was fitted to which bikes. But I could be wrong. I often am. But next time I'm back where the Falco is, I'll check.

But FB is correct. I have also been KTM-bothering today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RiderSite.com Forum Index -> Falco All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group